>Open Yourself Up to Endless Possibilities

>By nature I am an introvert…the most outgoing introvert you’ll ever meet. I come from a long line of introverts; which certainly helped to encourage this character flaw. I am one of those people that you would describe as being “sweet” or “nice” which I truly am, however there is much more deep within that most never see. It takes me a while to size people up, but once I feel comfortable I will be the best friend you’ve ever had.

I use to struggle daily with overcoming fears such as being hurt by another friend, what people will think about the clothes or make-up I wore, etc. Due to my insecurity and fears I have a long history of quietly exiting relationships because I didn’t want the drama or have to tell someone how I truly felt about them treating me with disrespect.

Today, I am still very introverted; however since I turned 40 (5 years ago) and lost my mother to leukemia; I have discovered that life is short! Being truthful and open may be uncomfortable and/or painful but down the road it is freeing to the soul. I have come to the point in my life that I can look back upon all of the relationships that I’ve had and see them as learning experiences. There were good things that happened in the midst of the bad. 

In the past I would surf the Net and read postings, blogs, bulletin boards etc. however would NEVER leave a comment with an opinion. That is one of the things that most people never see…I’m opinionated. What if someone doesn’t agree with me? Someone might not like me! I pushed past the fear of submitting my opinions to others and guess what? Not everyone agrees with me! But it’s okay! 

I found that by being truthful that I can agree to disagree with others. My creativity blossomed as I listened to others ideas that were far from my own, yet when you dig deep down we really aren’t that different. I can be extremely passionate about things but can now take constructive criticism. The two together are a winning combination. When I was younger (okay from the ages of 1 to 40!) if anyone gave me criticism I took it as though I was a failure – -and I would never ask for assistance on anything because someone might realize that I wasn’t perfect (another wonderful thing instilled in me during my childhood).

Today I am an active blogger, Twitterer, social networking lover who opened herself up to the unknown. Even though it was uncomfortable, I decided to find a new person to make contact with each day on Twitter or LinkedIn. By opening myself up to the unknown, I have met some wonderful and loving people whom I now call friend. One has assisted me with a press release package for my business (for free!), has helped me with forgiveness and positivity and another makes me smile with jokes and inspirations. I have also done radio interviews and am working with numerous businesses on special projects such as books and TV programs. Re-connecting with friends from school on Facebook is delightful as we share in the joys and struggles of parenthood, marriage and divorce.

It is interesting how children pick up and embrace the fears of family members. It becomes so engrained in our being that it makes it extremely difficult to overcome. I remember my mother saying that one never really grows up until their parent’s die (she quoted this shortly after the death of her father – her mother had already gone 5 years before) and darn it – she was right! It has been a year and a half since the passing of my mother and it makes you realize that you are now the grown up whether you want to be or not. You can decide to be stuck in the ways of your childhood or embrace the here and now by letting go of the past. 

I encourage you to open yourself up to others, to ideas, to change…it is freeing and will bring positive energy, people and circumstances into your life.


About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in fear, motivation, Personal, possibilities, social networking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to >Open Yourself Up to Endless Possibilities

  1. Anonymous says:

    >The joy that life brings knows no dates or time. The only time to celebrate is the here & now. You are & always have been a wonderful caring person, it just took a change in your life to realize it. Be grateful for the opportunity to live each day to fullest…..you never know what joy tomorrow can bring. Much love & hugs to you. Good work!Bill@timberwolf123

Leave a Reply

