>Learning to Say No is Valuable

>I use to live as though business was my entire life. Working 80 or more hours a week, every waking moment was occupied by my thoughts of new ideas, products, specials, marketing, store decor etc. Don’t get me wrong…I LOVE working for myself – it’s my passion – and it doesn’t feel like work.

Fortunately I’ve learned in my 44 years that loving your job is a wonderful thing BUT it’s not the only thing! My child, my husband, my family, enjoying the moment, are all so much more important. I’ve learned to prioritize and the single greatest thing to help me was learning how to say, “No!”.

I’ve always wanted to help everyone; however there is no possible way to do that. It ended up that I was helping everyone except for myself and my immediate family. I was so worried about hurting people’s feelings…I guess, except for my immediate family. Learning how to say no is a freedom like no other and it can’t be described until you experience it for yourself.

If you are a person that always says yes when you mean no then I challenge you to say NO! the next time you are asked to do something that you don’t want to do…or don’t have time to do… You don’t have to be rude or abrupt, but hold your ground and be true to yourself and those nearest and dearest to you. You may find that some people will not know how to respond. I actually lost a long time friendship because I stood up for myself and didn’t let this person walk all over me. She loved me when I did whatever was asked but hated me when I stood up for myself. In the end it was the greatest thing that ever happened to me. This so-called friend was dragging me down with negativity and stiffeling my growth as a person.

There is no easy way to do this than to just do it ~ Nike has the right idea! Put yourself first, your family a close second and go from there.

I’d love to hear how your transformation goes…

Love,
Marie

About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in business. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

