>As A Man Thinketh

>I recently read a book titled As A Man Thinketh by James Allen. For such a tiny book of just 72 pages it is full of thought provoking words; so much so that I read it through again. I’ve been keeping it by my side for the past few days…not quite sure as to why, but just feel better with it near me.

I found the book at the bottom of a box which was full of my mother’s stuff. It is almost like she left it for me to discover after she passed. I don’t believe in coincidence and the timing just seemed right for me to read it. I can’t really write how it affected me; but it has certainly affected me.

My mother was a strong woman who was full of much wisdom. She taught me many things including that whatever we think – we become. I heard her words, however now it all makes sense to me.

It is interesting how when we are “ready” the teacher, mentor, friend, book etc. come into our lives at just the right time. I think that my mother would be proud of me…something I never really felt when she was alive.

At this moment I quickly wonder if I should even share such personal things on my business blog and then I remind myself to follow my heart. You never know who you can help by sharing your own story.

Book Excerpt:

Doubt and fear are the great enemies of knowledge, and he who encourages them, who does not slay them, thwarts himself at every step.

He who has conquered doubt and fear has conquered failure. His every thought is allied with powers, and all difficulties are bravely met and wisely overcome.

Love to you all.
Marie

About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

