>Honesty in Business (and life!)

>Honesty is one of the main things that my mother taught me. She was many things, but honest just about sums her up in one word. I don’t like fibs, white lies or dishonesty either.

I recently had the pleasure of working with someone on a business project who was less than truthful; even when I had concrete proof that a deception had occurred this person stuck to their story…trying to push the blame onto others and accepting no fault of their own.

Sometimes we find ourselves in situations where we must fulfill our end of the bargain with people that are less than honest. I will certainly fulfill my obligation as it will affect many others if I don’t; however will not work with them again on any future projects. I don’t hold hostility or anger towards them as they themselves are the ones that will have to deal with their less than honest behavior.

I would much prefer for someone to be honest, even if it hurts to hear the truth, than to make up a story to cover their a*#. I have worked with many people like this over the years and at this stage in my life have chosen to not intentionally do business with these type of people.

I believe that this latest situation came about so that I could stand up for myself, take the high road and learn to pre-screen potential business acquaintances a bit better. With all of the “friendliness” that goes on with social networking it is easy to get drawn into situations with people that you feel comfortable with, that you trust…when really we don’t know them at all.

Honesty gives us the chance to improve ourselves, know what people really think and to me it really shows what their internal compass looks like.

As a long time business owner and manager I have always been one that will take the blame – not in a bad way; but if my name is on a product or company or I’m responsible for a department then it is my responsibility to take what comes my way – – not pass the blame to someone else. If I make a mistake then I admit to that mistake, fix it and move forward. You can’t move forward if you have lied about a mistake – it ALWAYS comes back to haunt you.

It is difficult to take the high road and not become angry, however I have found that with practice it gets easier and easier. I feel empathy for the person that lied to me since I know how it will affect them internally over time.

How do you handle dishonest people in your life…Do you get angry? Forgive and forget? Learn and move on?

I am taking the ‘learn and move on’ tactic and it seems to be working – it has even helped my blood pressure from not getting all worked up! LOL!

Until next time. Peace.

About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in business, Personal. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

