>Vintage Shutter equals Wall Art!?

>We just love this project from Better Homes & Gardens. Think outside the frame when you need your next piece of artwork.

Here a refinished vintage shutter was transformed into a savvy place to display photos, postcards, and clippings.  Cottage style and old shutters are naturals together. Try hanging shutters horizontally for displaying photographs, postcards, letters, and clippings.

If years of paint and weathering prevent your louvers from closing tightly enough to hold the papers, use a small piece of double-stick tape to keep items in place.

Celebrating the Coastal Lifestyle

About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in Art, coastal decorating, crafts, Decor, decorating, projects, shutters, vintage, walls. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to >Vintage Shutter equals Wall Art!?

  1. sealaura says:

    >great idea! I use a greeting card holder by the door to hold business cards and important pieces of papers.

  2. michelle says:

    >Great idea! I love Better Homes and Gardens! Thank you!

  3. Shellbelle says:

    >Love the color and the vintage postcards!

  4. >I love this idea. I saw somewhere, a shutter that had louvre's at one end and a panel at the other. They used chalkboard paint on the flat panel end. They mounted it above a desk. So not only did they have the slats to organize, but a place to write also. I love the color of this shutter, it makes me want to do this – tonight!!

  5. >I have a "OLD" yellow shutter on my kitchen counter that I use to display pics…guess I need to post about it! Come by and enter my COASTAL GIVEAWAY:)Blessings,Linda

  6. >I Love this idea. I may have to try this soon!!!

  7. Terrell says:

    >Hi Marie!! I love this idea!! it's so practical and decorative at the same time! Just wanted to say thank you for the follow and sweet comments…I'm going to do the same! You're blog is wonderful!Thanks again ~Terrell @ FrouFrouDecor~

  8. Rose West says:

    >ooooh, I love this! so much 🙂 must go shutter-shopping now!

Leave a Reply

