>Sailboat Switchplate Covers

>A touch of whimsy is the perfect accent for any beach home. Since I recently added some Seaglass Blue walls to our home, I thought it would be fun to add some beachy switch plate covers to incorporate the color here and there. 

I decided to make my own so I dug through some old boxes for postcards or something that I could use and found a pack of 5″ x 7″art cards from IKEA which featured watercolor sailboats – PERFECT!  The IKEA art cards were easily turned into beautiful light switch covers…it only took me 45 minutes to complete these four ~ here’s how I did it. 

Switch Plates photographed while the varnish dried…

 Directions:

  • Measure and cut your artwork to size. 
  • Carefully use your fingernail to separate & pull the backing paper off of the art card/postcard.
  • Using a brush, cover the light switch cover with a thin and even layer of tacky glue.
  • Lay artwork gently onto tacky glue and carefully smooth with fingers.
  • Use an X-acto knife to cut an X in the switch openings, fold paper to back of plate (use a bit of glue to hold paper in its place)
  • A sharpened pencil works perfectly for gently poking through the screw holes.
  • Let dry & then brush with several coats of your favorite interior varnish.
  • Paint the screw heads with a coordinating paint color to blend into design.
  • Install & enjoy!

Get creative by using postcards, pictures from magazines, greeting cards, sheet music or anything your imagination can think of AND the most important thing of all…have FUN!!

Completed project . . .We love the new look!!

We’re sharing this project at Nifty Thrifty Tuesdays , Whatever Goes Wednesdays and Transformation Thursdays

Don’t forget to enter both of our CSN sponsored giveaways too . . .
 


Click here to enter!

Click here to enter!








About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in coastal crafts, crafts, projects, switchplates. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to >Sailboat Switchplate Covers

  1. >Very, very clever. I especially like the last one. I wonder if I can do the same to mine since they are the larger holes? I may just give it a try.

  2. bichonpawz says:

    >These came out perfect! You are one talented lady!! Great idea!!

  3. seaphemera says:

    >Really beautiful, and it sounds so simple to do! I'm off to look for some postcards or photos!

  4. YogaSavy says:

    >What a brilliant idea. Thank you for the follow.

  5. >Great idea – I have some sepia toned America's Cup cards that might work just perfect. In my spare time… when it's not 103 degrees!Caron

  6. decdiva1 says:

    >cute idea! what a great way to carry out a theme in a room! so many possibilities! thanks for stopping by cottage romance and becoming a follower! i really appreciate it!

  7. >These are lovely. Thanks for visiting my blog!

  8. >What a clever idea. I'm thinking of all the possibilities now. I hate those plain old light switch plates. Now I have another project:) Thank you for sharing.Wish I could be up in your neck of the woods with the cool weather.

  9. Lisa says:

    >These are beautiful! My parent's have a beach cottage that we all call ours! Love the beach! Will try your idea out very soon! Great way to add that personal touch.

Leave a Reply

