>{Taste of the Coast} Pumpkin Bread for the Holidays

>Pumpkin Bread….doesn’t the name just say, “Happy Holidays!”? Today’s Pink Saturday theme is “Recipes” so we knew we had to share this new family favorite with you. Our daughter, Elizabeth, created this recipe a few months ago for a wedding shower. She brought some to our home for Thanksgiving and we all just loved it.

Thought I’d share a picture of my favorite “Kitchen Snowman” who keeps me company while I’m baking at the beach…Isn’t he precious? I’ve had him for years and still haven’t named him; any suggestions?

This Pumpkin Bread has the consistency of a very moist cake without the frosting. We found that serving a slice of the bread with a dollop of Cool Whip© produces heavenly sighs of satisfaction.

Pumpkin Bread - The Delicious Daily 11.05.2009
Moist & Delicious Pumpkin Bread for the Holidays!

Pumpkin Bread Recipe
by Elizabeth Rhoades


Ingredients 
1 cup butter, softened
3 cups sugar
3 eggs, room temperature
3 cups all-purpose flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cloves
1 1/2 teaspoons ground nutmeg
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 (16 ounce) can solid pack pumpkin

1 handful of chopped walnuts (if desired)

Directions:


You will need two bowls for this recipe…

  • In one mixing bowl combine butter and sugar. Add eggs; mix well.
  • Combine all dry ingredients into the other bowl in order given.
  • Stir dry ingredients into creamed mixture just until moistened. Stir in pumpkin and vanilla.  Add walnuts.
  • Pour batter into two greased 9-in. x 5-in. x 3-in. loaf pans. Bake at 350 degrees F for 1 hour or until bread tests done with a knife. 
Happy Pink Saturday!  Won’t you Join us?

About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in baking, christmas, Holidays, recipes, taste of the coast. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to >{Taste of the Coast} Pumpkin Bread for the Holidays

  1. >Happy PS! will have to give this a try!!

  2. Kaybe says:

    >I am so making this recipe – it sounds yummy. The snowman looks like a "Bob". You know, Frosty's cousin who won the Food Network's Cupcake Wars. He has a bakery in Nome, Alaska by the airport. I hear you can follow Bob's Mobile Cupcakes on Twitter. :DKaren

  3. >Pumpkin bread and holidays are definitely synonymous. Sounds wonderful!

  4. Jan says:

    >This pumpkin bread looks and sounds amazing!

  5. Donnie says:

    >That recipe for pumpkin bread sounds so good and I love your photo of the snowman. I think I would name him Christmas "Cook"ie. Happy Pink Saturday.

  6. gena says:

    >Thanks for visiting Lavender Hill ! That pumpkin bread looks divine – I've copied into my file and will try it for my boys who LOVE pumpkin !Hope you had a great Pink Saturday !genawww.thehouseonlavenderhill.blogspot.com

  7. >The snowman is so cute! I love pumpkin bread, thank you for sharing the recipe!Hugs'Catlyn

  8. Dru says:

    >Hi there, and thank you for visiting me at Garden of Dreams. I have signed on as a follower, love your blog and anything to do with the coast even tho I live a few hours from there in the Sierras. And, I think I'm making that bread today while my husband is fishing – it just looks toooo good! Happy Pink Belated Saturday! Dru

  9. >That bread looks and sounds so yummy! I love anything anything pumpkin! Thanks for visiting and following. Okay, this probably sounds silly but I want to follow you back and I can't find where to? Help!Happy PS,Jacalyn

  10. Nancy says:

    >Love pumpkin bread! Thank you for sharing a recipe with great instructions.I'm still visiting around for Pink Saturday. Have a wonderful week.

  11. Julie says:

    >Happy Belated Pink Saturday! Thanks for visiting my blog. Love the snowman and of course, pumpkin bread is a favorite at the holidays.

  12. Dawn says:

    >The snowman is darling! My first thought was Crystal but you said he's a boy,(hard to tell with snowchefs!)so I think "Frothy", sounds good! Mmmm, I'm suddenly craving a cappuccino!

Leave a Reply

