>Get Your Home Ready for Guests

>

It's hard to believe but that time of year is upon us again when out of town guests and family come to visit. The Holiday season can be stressful enough without adding in-laws (and out-laws) to the mix. Here are some ideas for making your guests more comfortable. Think of the things that you enjoy when you have visited others homes and try to incorporate them into your home. 

One of our recent guests couldn't stop talking about how lovely and cozy our home smelled and that she never wanted to leave! I simply put some wax tarts (unmelted) throughout the house; tucked them into baskets, floral arrangements, a dish of seashells, on a shelf and the back of my towel cabinet.  Each room smelled wonderful without having to worry about lighting candles or spraying room sprays each day. I used the same fragrance throughout and made sure that I picked something that wasn't irritating such as a floral. Many people can't smell floral scents without going into an allergy attack so I stuck with a soft vanilla-based cinnamon fragrance.  You can pretty much not go wrong with Vanillas either.

{ Click Here to Read More… }

About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in coastal decorating, decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to >Get Your Home Ready for Guests

  1. sandbox gems says:

    >I wish our guest room was as pretty as these–it is the most neglected room in the house. Plain walls, plain bed, and no window treatments.

  2. Sally Lee™ says:

    >I actually went to garage sales and thrift stores this summer and purchased 90% of the items for my guest room (curtains, chest of drawers, framed poster, bedspread). I even found clearance paint at Home Depot which had been poured in the wrong color for someone but I loved it. I spent $80total and have a nice relaxing room…sometimes I wish I was a guest ;o)

  3. Lauren says:

    >I want that house. I love the entry shot. Actually, all the photos are beautiful. Great writing. Great article with easy-to-follow tips.

  4. Barbara says:

    >My sister and I produce decorating, craft and cooking books so I really enjoyed and identified with your blog. Your blog is so well done and professional, tho. I always leave mine 'til the end of the day when I'm too tired to really do it. Then I just throw it together. It's more like a diary and not so informative as yours. How do you find the time?

  5. Sally Lee™ says:

    >Barbara ~ I have NO idea how I find the time. I don't watch much TV so that frees up some time I guess! LOL! I easily bore as my brain is always thinking of new things to do. I certainly appreciate your kind words. I've been to your blog and enjoy it thoroughly!

  6. Anonymous says:

    >Absolutely with you it agree. In it something is also idea excellent, agree with you.

  7. Amber D. says:

    >I love your idea about spreading the scent throughout the house without lighting a candle! Especially with two little ones in my house right now!P.S. I am a newbie blogger and am SO HAPPY that I found this blog with the FMBT blog hop! I follow you and would love if you could follow me back! Thanks!http://ozarkmamareviews.blogspot.com/2010/12/featured-fridays.html

  8. >Great tips.. but can I just have the house please..?

  9. michelle says:

    >Great ideas and I love the photos!! Have a wonderful Holiday Season!!

  10. Shellbelle says:

    >These are all fabulous and essential tips, since I'm the one who is usually off visiting others, I'll have to pass this on to my relatives. I'll do this anonymously, of course.Thanks for dropping by, I've missed you! Let's do "get together" more often, lol.Merry Christmas Marie to you and yours!

  11. >I've never heard of wax tarts…what are they? It sounds like the perfect scent solution!

  12. >Good advice about the vanilla. It's one of the few strong scents that doesn't cause problems for my sister with severe asthma. She can even burn vanilla candles in her home. Luckily, it's my favorite scent 🙂

  13. >I love the smells of the holidays. I have a live Christmas tree every year just so I have the smell of pine in my house. I also leave a popourie of cinnamon sticks and cloves simmering in a tiny crock pot which everyone comments on, and I love. I'm not sure I want my guests as comfortable as you are making them though — they'll never want to leave!

Leave a Reply

