>Beach Cottage Decorating with Vintage Bottles

>

Vintage Bottles become Flower Vases ~ A Beach Cottage

Whether it's Vintage, Found or Used…bottles and jars provide extremely charming decor for your beach home or getaway.

I've loved old bottles for as long as I can recall…probably back to the glass bottles of Coca Cola that I drank as a child (yes, soda pop use to come in glass bottles). A favorite childhood toy of mine was a half drunk bottle of soda that was turned into a musical instrument. If you have no idea what I'm talking about then you are too young to know the joys involved with playing the bottle with your childhood friends.

Any way, old bottles are one of the most versatile of all things around and work PERFECTLY in a beach cottage environment. A vintage glass bottle can be a simple vase for the most lovely of flowers or can be a memory jar filled with sand and seashells as well as a holder for bath salts or bubble bath.  Of course, bottles are simply charming by being grouped together on a shelf.

I love how they reflect light to assist in creating a glow in my cottage…I love that they are old and have a history…I just simply love them! Here are some favorite ideas for incorporating old bottles and jars into your beach cottage decorating.

{ Click Here to Read More… }

About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in coastal decorating, decorating. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to >Beach Cottage Decorating with Vintage Bottles

  1. debi says:

    >I love old bottles and have a small collection. I have made the hanging vases with beaded wire and sold them in a garden shop. I like using them as vases for the small flowers I always seem to have in my garden. Your pictures inspired me to pull them out and come up with some new ideas. Thank you!

  2. Kat says:

    >Gorgeous! Love them all.Happy Valentine's Day!Hugs,Kat

  3. michelle says:

    >I love them, they are just gorgeous! I would love to do something like the first image but have no idea where to hang then from! I also love the colored bottles and will have to try that!Happy Valentines day!

  4. Lisa says:

    >Thanks for sharing these ideas, there are some really lovely ones I want to try. At the moment, I have some bottles (well jars really – do they count?), on my kitchen window sill waiting for cutting to strike. I also use them for decor. Cheers,Lisa x

  5. >I have them on a shelf mantle, in my bathroom with a flower and also I put them in my office on the book shelves. I love vintage bottles with seashells in them and also as a vase for flowers. Great photos!!

  6. >As a young girl living in Surrey England our property was bounded by a brook. In that brook and wooden banks behind, my brother and I discovered the largest haul of Victorian and antique bottles, ink pots and lidded marmalade jars like the ones shown above. Apparently 150 years before the parish tip was there!! Empressionista

  7. simpledaisy says:

    >Ooh…I love old bottles! So pretty…I have always wanted to paint the inside but never seem to get around to it:)

  8. >Aqua bottle have starfish resting them…sometimes they are used for flowers.

Leave a Reply

