>Driftwood: From Beach to Living Room

>

Extra-large Driftwood Heart by Karen Miller

Definition: drift·wood (drftwd) n.  Wood floating in or washed up by a body of water.

Some actually have the nerve to say that driftwood is a form of "marine debris or tidewrack".  I guess that I've got a thing for marine debris! LOL! I have fond memories of collecting driftwood with my mother along the shores of the Northern California beaches as a young child. She had a thing for debris too ;o) 
 
We have various pieces of driftwood out on the back deck which we are letting the rain clean and sun bleach. When they are properly cleaned we'll find just the right use for them. Since living at the beach we are much more selective about the pieces we bring home.  David has a piece which looks like a wooden club that it currently being cleansed outside…I'm not sure what his fascination is with the "club" look (getting in touch with his inner caveman, perhaps?) but he loves it, so we'll find a place for it.

{ Click Here to Read More… }

About marierhoades

Beach bum, wife, mother, lover of dogs & cats. Editor of Sally Lee by the Sea, http://nauticalcottageblog.com, a beach cottage design & lifestyle website.
This entry was posted in coastal decor, coastal decorating, driftwood. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to >Driftwood: From Beach to Living Room

  1. michelle says:

    >You know I love me some driftwood!! 🙂 That horse is gorgeous and I love that shot of the bald eagle Marie! That is too funny about the "club" piece! I can't wait to find some more pieces this spring and summer.

  2. >these pics are wonderful, so creative, love the coffee table.Enjoy the weekSharon xox

  3. Lisa says:

    >Love driftwood. We have a large flat piece, which I'm going to buy coathooks for, and use as a coat, bag rack. We have another piece on our hearth. Cheers,Lisa x

  4. Donnie says:

    >I have a thing for Cypress Knees…lol….I saw a propeller in yours too. Great photos.

  5. >Love driftwood – so unique…like to lean a piece here and there in our house. Great article :O)

  6. >I love that piece on the wall. I saw a propeller right away. I picked up 3 pieces last night on the shore. My son is always asking me what I want it for. I just do!

  7. simpledaisy says:

    >Love all your driftwood inspirations!!! So cute:)

  8. >I love this huge driftwood heart. So sweet.

  9. >Love the driftwood! I need to remember to bring some home next time I find it!

  10. >OH my goodness!!! the driftwood heart is AMAZING!I may have to copy that…I wonder how?Kristine

  11. >Gorgeous photos and great inspiration!

  12. solsticehome says:

    >Thank you for visiting my blog..now I've found yours and I Love this post! Driftwood is one of my favorite decorating accessories. My favorite one is a large piece I have as a wall sculpture. It was found with a few pine cones still attached. Sue

Leave a Reply

